National Commission for Museums and Monuments, Nigeria

The National Commission for Museums and Monuments with its headquarters in Abuja, manages Fifty (52) outlets spread across the country. These include National Museums Aba, Abakaliki, Abeokuta, Akure, Asaba, Bauchi, Benin, Birnin Kudu, Calabar, Damaturu, Enugu, Esie, Hong, Ibadan, Oko, Igbo-Ukwu, Ile-Ife, Ilorin, Jos, Kanta, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Koko, Lafia, Lagos, Lokoja, Maiduguri, Makurdi, Minna, Nok, Ogbomosho, Oron, Osogbo, Owerri, Owo, Oyo, Port-Harcourt, Sokoto, Sukur, Umuahia, Uyo, Yenagoa and Yola. There are also two UNESCO World Heritage Sites namely Sukur Cultural Landscape in Adamawa state and Osun Osogbo Sacred Grove in Osun state. The NCMM also has the Museum of Traditional Nigerian Architecture (MOTNA); a Zoological Garden and the Centre for Earth Construction Technology (CECTECH) as well as the Institute of Archaeology and Museum Studies all in Jos, for capacity building of different categories of its staff and others outside the Commission. In the past years, sixty-five (65) National Monuments and Sites have been declared, while a hundred (100) additional ones were being proposed for declaration as National Monuments to mark Nigeria’s Centenary. More…

Download NCMM Act Chapter 242 Constitution of Nigeria

Vision Statement

A stable museum system, which ensures the preservation and integration of the Nigerian cultural and natural heritage within the local and national developmental process and the world heritage network.

Mission Statement

The systematic collection, preservation, study and interpretation of the material evidence (tangible and intangible) of the development of the peoples of Nigeria and Nigerians in the Diaspora.


“Great heritage for a greater future”

Right Now


Rediscover Nigeria Heritage Bikers Tour

Our nation Nigeria is currently experiencing a rebirth with the advent of democracy; the foundation of Nigeria’s transformation towards becoming one of the world 20 greatest economies by the year 2020 is being consolidated. This project is geared towards shedding spotlight on Nigeria by selecting bikers from different continents to tour the designated heritage and tourist sites in the states of Nigeria.

How does it work?

After the flag off of the event on the 23rd October, 2018, the Bikers and the Heritage team will leave in a convoy for some selected states of the country ear marked for the two weeks event.

The Tour will flag off from Abuja to Minna and then Lokoja to Awka to Calabar en-rooting Port Harcourt. It will also pass through Yenagoa to Benin to Akure and Osogbo, then faces Abeokuta to Lagos and finally back to Abuja.